Roofless Surf Camp Hossegor — Lodge and Optional Lessons

Roofless is a surf lodge in Soorts-Hossegor with separately selectable lessons. The official site confirms the villa, rooms and optional surf services. It is not the separately marketed Blackwave junior week even though both listings use the same street address.

Reviewed November 5, 2026. Official Italian/English lodge pages and the Surfcampseurope listing were readable (HTTP 200). Official lesson-pack prices differ from the marketplace lesson table — neither is locked here. No public cancellation schedule was found on the official site this session.

Check availability and full terms

What this lodge offer actually covers

Decision Published scope and limit
Base 765 Avenue des Cerfs, Soorts-Hossegor — inland villa, not beachfront
Rooms 4-bed dorm, 6-bed dorm, doubles, family room (5) with private shower
Other baths Dorm/double bathroom privacy not published — confirm
Food Breakfast listed included; two shared kitchens for self-catering
Surf Optional lesson packs (1 / 3 / 5); ~2h courses on marketplace copy
Coach ratio Unpublished
Transfers Shuttle by arrangement from BOD / BIQ / Lourdes — not free
Season bands Low Apr–May + Oct–Nov; mid Jun–Sep; high Jul–Aug
Open window (marketplace) Listed Apr 18 – Sep 30 — confirm shoulder dates
Cancel No public deposit/refund schedule found on official pages — ask in writing

Accommodation and privacy — what is named vs unknown

Official rooms:

  • Quadruple dorm (4) and six-bed dorm — garden/terrace views described; bathroom layout for dorms is not stated.
  • Double rooms (three) — double beds; views/skylight/garden access; bathroom privacy not stated.
  • Family room (5) — five beds, private shower, balcony, attic floor.

Only the family room is explicitly published with a private shower. Do not invent ensuites for dorms or doubles. Confirm shared vs private bathrooms, bedding (bunk vs beds), sole occupancy of a double, and any age/house rules on the written confirmation. Shared facilities include two kitchens, two lounges, barbecue/outdoor tables, yoga platform, board/wetsuit storage, bike storage, laundry, Wi-Fi and towels. Pets are allowed on the official amenities list — still confirm rules for your booking. A yoga platform is not proof that scheduled yoga classes are included with every night.

Coaching quantities vs guiding — optional lessons only

Surf is not bundled into every room night. Official packs are listed as 1 / 3 / 5 lessons. Marketplace programme copy describes courses of about two hours, French-certified instructors fluent in Italian, English and French, levels beginner–advanced, schedules around tides/sea conditions, equipment for beginner/intermediate courses, and a recommendation that advanced guests bring their own gear. Marketplace copy also claims lesson insurance — treat that as operator lesson cover language, not personal travel/medical/cancellation insurance.

Unpublished: coach-to-student ratio, exact water vs theory split, equipment use outside lessons, and whether packs can span non-consecutive days. This is optional coaching, not a guided multi-spot tour product and not a supervised junior academy. Do not import Blackwave villa-supervision rules into a Roofless adult/family lodge booking.

Channel price conflict: official site lesson euros and Surfcampseurope’s 2026 lesson table do not match. Omit locked prices; require a dated combined quote for room nights + chosen lesson count from the channel you actually pay.

Wave, skill and season tradeoffs

Hossegor is a sandy Atlantic beach-break region that can be powerful on larger swells. The lodge is inland (~8 minutes to the sea / ~10 minutes to spots on marketing copy — estimates, not a beachfront walk). Instructors choose timing around tides and conditions; destination reputation is not a beginner-safe guarantee.

Season framing from official room bands + marketplace open window:

  • Apr–May / Oct–Nov (low room band): quieter / cooler shoulder; marketplace lists camp open 18 Apr – 30 Sep, so confirm October–November operation if relying on low-season room quotes.
  • June / September (mid): transitional crowds and swell.
  • July–August (high): busiest and highest room rates; expect more powerful summer beachbreaks and fuller houses.

Ask how beginners are grouped from intermediates/advanced and which beaches are used when La Nord or other heavy banks are unsuitable.

Meals, gear and exclusions

Breakfast is listed included; kitchens support self-catering — not half board unless your quote says so. Surfboards/wetsuits: rental listed separately; lesson equipment rules differ by level (see above). Yoga classes, nightlife trips, oyster tastings and shopping runs appear as optional atmosphere on marketplace programme text — not automatic inclusions. No free airport transfer.

Practical arrival and booking terms

  1. Confirm Roofless lodge (not Blackwave junior), nights, room type and optional lesson count before non-refundable travel.
  2. Arrive independently or request the paid/arranged shuttle from Bordeaux (BOD), Biarritz (BIQ) or Lourdes. Ask price, meeting point, flight timing, board-bag capacity and late-arrival rules. No free transfer is established.
  3. Give the driver 765 Avenue des Cerfs, Soorts-Hossegor, not a generic “Hossegor beach” pin.
  4. Cancellation / deposit: no clear public refund schedule was found on the official Roofless pages in this review. Ask for deposit amount, refund deadlines, weather interruption policy and insurance expectations in writing before paying. Marketplace “lesson insurance” does not replace travel insurance covering surfing and medical care.

Who it suits

Adults, couples, friends and families wanting a house base with flexible optional coaching. Not a beachfront hotel, not an automatic junior-supervision product, and not a fixed seven-night lesson package unless you buy that structure explicitly.

Practical traveler FAQs

Are lessons included with every room?

No. Select a 1 / 3 / 5 lesson pack (or none) separately and obtain a combined quote. Official and marketplace lesson prices differ — do not rely on a directory starting price.

Which bathrooms are private?

Only the family room is explicitly published with a private shower. Dorm and double bathroom layouts are not stated on the official pages — confirm before paying if privacy matters.

Is it on the beach?

No. The lodge describes about eight minutes to the sea. Confirm beach transport (shuttle, car, bike); it is not a beachfront walk-in.

Is this the Blackwave junior camp?

No. Roofless is the lodge offering described here. A separate junior programme shares the published street address; confirm operator and supervision before booking.

How long is each lesson, and what is the coach ratio?

Marketplace copy describes about two-hour courses. A numeric coach-to-student ratio is not published on the official or marketplace pages reviewed. Confirm water time, group size and language on your quote.

Are airport transfers free?

No free transfer is established. A shuttle is advertised by arrangement from Bordeaux, Biarritz or Lourdes; confirm cost and schedule.

When is the lodge open?

Marketplace listing shows roughly mid-April to end of September. Official room tariffs still quote October–November low season — confirm actual operating dates for your stay, especially shoulder months.

What cancellation rule applies?

No public deposit/refund schedule was found on the official Roofless site in this review. Ask for written deposit, refund deadlines and interruption terms before paying. Carry personal travel insurance that covers surfing.

What if my flight is late or I arrive separately from my group?

Send flight numbers, dates and party size before paying. Ask who meets any arranged shuttle, how delays are handled and whether separate arrivals cost extra. An arranged vehicle does not automatically cover several flights.

Is the Atlantic always beginner-friendly?

No. Sandbanks and rip currents change with tide and swell. Take lessons in supervised beach areas when flags allow and follow daily instructor advice rather than town reputation.

What will the final price include?

Request a dated quote for room type/occupancy, breakfast, chosen lesson count, equipment, any shuttle and taxes. Do not merge official and marketplace lesson price tables.

Check dates and book

Check current dates, inclusions and booking terms

Researched November 5, 2026. Confirm current availability and the full written quote before paying.

More camps nearby